no 1 moon of madness, moon of fear

série: Chamber of Chills
dessinateur / scénariste: Collectif
éditeur: Marvel USA
genre: Horreur
classement: carton131
date: 1972
format: broché
état: TBE/N
valeur: 10 €
critère: *
remarques: an unrelated comic-book series titled Chamber of Chills
was published by Marvel Comics in the 1970s,
it ran 25 issues Nov. 1972 - Nov. 1976

only the first two issues are collected here
as representative samples of the serie

Chamber of Chills no 1, serie 2160, November 1972

1/ moon of madness, moon of fear
by George Alec Effinger and Craig Russell

2/ they wait in their dungeon
by Stan Lee and Russ Heath

3/ delusion for a dragon slayer
by Gerry Conway and Syd Shores

the title was one of four launched by Marvel Comics editor-in-chief Roy Thomas
to form a line of science fiction and horror anthologies
with more thematic cohesiveness than the company's earlier attempts that decade
which had included such series as Chamber of Darkness and Tower of Shadows,.
whereas those titles generally presented original stories,
these new books would instead adapt genre classics and other works.

with the four titles' debuts set to be staggered over the course of four months,
Marvel premiered Journey into Mystery vol. 2 (Oct. 1972),
Chamber of Chills (Nov. 1972), Supernatural Thrillers (Dec. 1972),
and, with a late start, Worlds Unknown (May 1973),
the first issue features an original six-page story
by science fiction novelist George Alec Effinger, "Moon of Madness, Moon of Fear",
penciled by P. Craig Russell (then credited as Craig Russell)
and a slightly retitled adaptation of the Harlan Ellison short story
"delusion for a Dragon Slayer", by writer Gerry Conway and artist Syd Shores;
in-between was a story by writer Stan Lee and artist Russ Heath,
"they Wait in their ... Dungeon", reprinted from Menace #1 (March 1953),
from Marvel's 1950s forerunner, Atlas Comics.

the bimonthly series ran exclusively new material through issue #4,
with one reprinted story added to the mix for the following two issues,
and only one new story in issue #7, after which the series became all-reprint,
most of the reprinted stories were 1950s "pre-Code" horror stories,
which the industry self-censorship organization the Comics Code Authority
had forbidden on Code-approved comics until a loosening of the Code in 1971

other creators included novelist John Jakes, scripting "Spell of the Dragon",
starring Brak the Barbarian (#2), with art by Val Mayerik and Dan Adkins,
and adapting his own short story "the opening of the Crypt",
a sequel to Edgar Allan Poe's "the cask of Amontillado",
with art by Frank Brunner (#4);
and Gardner F. Fox, a DC Comics veteran from the 1940s on,
with a story each in #3 (art by Ernie Chan) and #4 (penciled by Howard Chaykin),
also contributing were Marvel regulars Steve Gerber, Tony Isabella,
Larry Lieber, Don McGregor, and Doug Moench,
as well as editor Roy Thomas, adapting Robert E. Howard's
"the Thing on the Roof", with artist Frank Brunner (#3),
others include two writers better known for their work
at rival DC, John Albano and Steve Skeates,
other artists included Don Heck, Jay Scott Pike, and Paul Reinman.

the 1950s reprints included work by artists Dick Ayers, Gene Colan,
Tony DiPreta, Sam Kweskin, Mort Lawrence, Pete Morisi, Don Perlin,
Bob Powell, Werner Roth, Robert Q. Sale, Joe Sinnott, and Pete Tumlinson,
the latter part of the run began including late-1950s
and early 1960s "Pre-superhero Marvel" stories
by the likes of Jack Kirby and Steve Ditko,
mixed with a handful of tales from the earlier 1970s horror comics.
cover artists included Gil Kane and John Romita, Sr.
Copyright 2008 - 2024 G. Rudolf